

Approved for Release by the Senate of the University of Victoria

MINUTES

A meeting of the Senate of the University of Victoria was held on December 1, 2017 at 3:30 p.m. in the Senate and Board Chambers, University Centre, Room A180.

1. APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Motion: (R. Lipson/M. Garcia-Barrera)
That the agenda be approved as circulated.

CARRIED

2. MINUTES

a. November 3, 2017

Motion: (P. Kostek/S. Hundza)
That the minutes of the open session of the meeting of the Senate held on November 3, 2017 be approved and that the approved minutes be circulated in the usual way.

CARRIED

3. BUSINESS ARISING FROM THE MINUTES

There was none.

4. REMARKS FROM THE CHAIR

a. President's Report

Prof. Cassels acknowledged Senate members Patricia Kostek and Rebecca Grant, whose terms were ending.

Prof. Cassels commented on the November Convocation ceremonies. He provided members of Senate with information regarding recent funding announcements. Prof. Cassels also commented on the successful Victoria Forum, and advised members that UVic would be hosting the 2018 Reconciliation Forum.

b. Update on strategic planning process

Prof. Cassels thanked members of Senate for their participation in the Joint Senate Board Retreat, which had focused on the strategic plan. He provided a brief outline of next steps, including

i. Revised Terms of Reference for the Senate Committee on Planning

Prof. Gillen introduced the proposal.

<u>Motion:</u> (M. Gillen/S. Lewis) That Senate approve the revised terms of reference for the Senate Committee on Planning.

CARRIED

c. Senate Committee on Awards

i. New and Revised Awards

Dr. Walsh introduced the proposal.

An editorial change was proposed to the YLaw's Best Lawyering Award. This change was accepted.

Motion: (D. Begoray/S. Hundza)

That Senate approve, and recommend to the Board of Governors that it also approve, the new and revised awards set out in the attached document:

- x Balbir Singh Sidhu Memorial Bursary in the Faculty of Science (revised)*
- x Carmen Kirkness Award (new)*
- x Grace Swannell Memorial Scholarship in Piano (revised)*
- x W.R. (Bill) Gordon Scholarship (revised)*
- x G. Neil Perry Award in Public Administration (revised)*
- x Simon Ibell Vikes Inspiration Award (new)*
- x Faculty of Humanities Undergraduate Research Travel Award (revised)
- x Speakman-Granewall Bursary in Mechanical Engineering (revised)*
- x Bayview Place Vikes Tour Award (new)
- x Jean Foley International Business Scholarship (new)
- x Mohamed and Prabha Ibrahim Undergraduate Scholarship in Chemistry (new)*
- x Mohamed and Prabha Ibrahim Graduate Scholarship in Chemistry (new)*
- x YLaw's Best Lawyering Award (new)

CARRIED

^{*} Administered by the University of Victoria Foundation

d. Senate Committee on Planning

i. Proposal to Establish a Minor in Art Education

Dr. Wright introduced the proposal. Dr. St. Clair provided details about the program.

Motion: (R. St. Clair/B. Wright)

That Senate approve, and recommend to the Board of Governors that it also approve, subject to funding, the establishment of a minor in Art Education, as described in the document "Proposal for a Minor in Art Education", and that this approval be withdrawn if the program should not be offered within five years of the granting of approval.

CARRIED

ii. Proposal to Establish a Combined Major in Biology and Mathematics and Statistics

Dr. Lipson introduced the proposal and provided details about the program.

Motion: (R. Lipson/L. Charlton)

That Senate approve, and recommend to the Board of Governors that it also approve, subject to funding, the establishment of a combined major in Biology and Mathematics and Statistics, as described in the document "Proposal for a Combined Major in Biology and Mathematics and Statistics", and that this approval be withdrawn if the program should not be offered within five years of the granting of approval.

CARRIED

7. PROPOSALS AND REPORTS FROM FACULTIES

There were none.

8. PROPOSALS AND REPORTS FROM THE VICE-PRESIDENT ACADEMIC AND PROVOST

a. Establishment of Raincoast Research Chair in Applied Conservation Science

Dr. Kuehne introduced the proposal.

In response to questions regarding the proposal, Dr. Rosaline Canessa, Associate Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences discussed opportunities for renewal and teaching load for the appointed faculty member. Dr. Kuehne provided details regarding funding.

Motion: (V. Kuehne/M. Garcia-Barrera)

That Senate approve, and recommend that the Board of Governors also approve, the establishment of the Raincoast Research Chair in Applied Conservation Science.

CARRIED

There being no other business the meeting was adjourned at 4:36 p.m.

MEMBERSHIP OF THE SENATE OF THE UNIVERSITY OF VICTORIA EffectiveJanuar y 1, 2018

EX OFFICIO MEMBERS - University Act: Section 35 (2) (2)

Chancellor:Shelagh Roger(\$1/12/20)

Thomas Tiedje

Dean of Continuing Studies: - Anne Clarke

Dean of Fine Arts: Susan Lesvi

Acting Dean of Graduate Studies: Stephen Evans

Dean of Humanities: Christopher Gotones

Dean of HSD: Patricia Marck Dean of Law: Jeremy Webber Dean of Science: Robert Lipson

Dean of Social Sciences: Catherine Krull University Librarian: Jonathan Bengts

MEMBERS ELECTED BY THE FACULTIES

- Section 35(2) (g)

BUSI: Dale Ganley(30/6/19)

Brock Smith(30/6/18) T

EDUC: Sandra Hundza (30/6/20)

Monica Prenderga \$80/6/19)

ENGR: Peter Driessen (30/69)

Henning Struchtrup(30/6/20)

FINE: Carolyn Butler Palme(30/6/19)

Kirk McNally (30/6/18)

GRAD: Sara Bean(30/6/19)

Mauricio GarciaBarrera(30/6/20)

HSD: Lynda Gagné (30/6/19)

Andre Kushniruk (30/6/18)

HUMS: Jason Colby (30/6/18)

Annalee Lepp(30/6/19)

LAWF: Gillian Calder(30/6/20)

Mark Gillen (30/6/19)

SCIE: Neil Burford (30/620)

Diana Varela (30/2/0)

SOSC: Janni Aragon (30/6/18)

Helen Kurki (30/6/20)

MEMBERS ELECTED BY THE FACULTYMEMBERS

- Sections 35 (2) (g)

Doug Baer SOSC (30/6/20)Deborah Begoray **EDUC** (30/6/18)Aaron Devor -SOSC (30/6/20)Garry Gray -SOSC (30/6/19)Helga Hallgrimsdottir -SOSC (30/6/18)Tim Haskett -HUMS (30/6/20)Robin Hicks -SCIE (30/6/18)Mark Laidlaw -SCIE (30/6/20)

MEMBERS ELECTED BY THE FACULTY MEMBERS (continued)

Joseph Salem FINE (30/6/20) Rebecca WarburtonHSD (30/6/19) Linda Welling –SOSC (30/6/20) Victoria Wyatt -FINE (30/6/19)

MEMBERS ELECTED FROM THE STUDENT

SOCETIES – Section 35 (2) (h)

Dheeraj Alamchandar(ENGR) (30/6/18)PierrePaul Angelblaze(SOSQ Brent Cantarutti (GRAD) Noor Chasib(SCIE) Mackenzie Cumberlan(\$OSQ) Kate Fairley(BUSI) David Foster(LAW) Kate Fry(HUMS) Carl Havnes BUSI) Alyssa HusbandEDUC) Natalia Karpovskai SOSO Hannah KoningFINE) Ngozi Nwoko (GRAD) Diana PopováGRAD) Colin SaintVil (SOSC) Deepti Yadawad (HSD)

MEMBERS ELECTED BY THE CONVOCATION

- Section 35 (2) (i)

Rizwan Bashir (30/06/18)
Chandra Beaveridge (30/06/18)
Lauren Charlton (30/06/18)
Peter Liddell (30/06/18)

ADDITIONAL MEMBERS - Section 35 (2) (k)

Head, Division of Medical Sciences: